Home > Food > Like A Chef Making Donuts And Pastries

Like A Chef Making Donuts And Pastries

Croissant success!  Baked off the first “official” batch (I was talking to Tammy at the time I cut and rolled the first ones, and accidentally made them half size…they baked off alright but a bit too crispy, also I had proofed them in a slightly warmed oven, which resulted in much of the butter melting and oozing out of the croissants before they had even been baked, which I do not like at all) yesterday morning, and they turned out really great.  Buttery and flaky, a bit crisp on the outside but still soft on the inside.  They were eaten pretty darn quickly, but I still have a few more in the freezer.

In the interest of credit-where-credit-is-due, I used this recipe from the Willow Bird Baking Blog, which I found really great, clear instructions, even diagrams!  Only a couple mods were made, mostly just because of lack of supplies.  I used 1% milk instead of whole, just because I forgot to pick up some whole, but that worked out just fine.  I mixed by hand instead of a stand mixer, and didn’t do the whole spritzing the oven with water before baking thing, but I did stick a cake pan with an inch or so of water on the bottom rack to keep things moist, which I think helped for sure.  Also I decided to just proof at room temp after the butter-melting incident, so as to keep as much of that glorious fat inside the pastry!

All in all, a good amount of work, something you really have to commit your day(or morning) to, but totally worth the effort.

Categories: Food Tags: , ,
  1. Alyssa
    August 15, 2010 at 5:02 pm | #1

    Holy moly those look amazing! You’re so talented.

  2. Tammy
    August 15, 2010 at 7:35 pm | #2

    If only your nails were properly painted and you were wearing pearls…

  3. August 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm | #3

    Clair, they are BEAUTIFUL! You did such a wonderful job with these and I’m so glad you enjoyed them, AND that you found making them with a hand mixer worked just fine! You’re truly a croissant rockstar now ;)

    Thank you so much for joining in the adventure with me and the other croissanters! May I use a picture and comment from you in one of my Croissant Masters round-up posts? I will link back to this post on your blog.

    Congratulations on a fantastic baking accomplishment!!

    • amyloliquefaciens
      August 16, 2010 at 12:33 am | #4

      Aw thanks Julie, thank you for the recipe! Yeah, you can definitely use a picture and comment!

  4. amyloliquefaciens
    August 15, 2010 at 11:06 pm | #5

    Haha, pearls and an apron next time for sure!

  1. September 13, 2010 at 9:48 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

